The Maze Runner

The movie adaptation to the first of the three books in the “Maze Runner” series was released a while ago, but still I want to talk about it since it is the beginning of a leading fandom in the world. 16-year-old Thomas awakens in a cage like elevator that is moving up towards the surface. He remembers nothing but his name, when he arrives at the top and meets other boys at his age. These boys also only know there name and have built a working society with people that hunt, build, nurse and cook. A few selected boys run into and search the maze that surrounds the clearing. The maze closes its gates to the clearing every night and protects them from vicious creatures called “grievers.” Once a person got stung by the needle of a griever they act aggressively and are a danger to the group. Thomas is welcomed by Newt, who acts like a second chief when Alby, the chief isn’t around, Alby himself and a little boy of who Thomas is really fond of, called Chuck. Others like Gally can’t stand him and his curious personality. He is told that once every month the cage comes up and brings supplies plus a new boy. One month has passed since Thomas has arrived when the cage comes up again and brings a girl and a note that says that she is the last one. Panic strikes because they have never met a girl and the supplies are getting less and less. The girl is called Teresa and surprisingly she remembers Thomas’ name. Another group member is stung and he blames Thomas and screams that everything is his fault. Then one night the runners are late and the gates will soon be closed. Minho, the lead runner, and Alby finally appear, but Alby seems to be stung and the gates are closing. Thomas wants to help and runs into the maze. Surprisingly he and Minho survive the night in the Maze and now everyone wonders if there is a way out of the maze back to freedom.
First of all I have to say that “The Maze Runner” is very complex and if I hadn’t read the book it would definitely have been confusing to me. I love the character of Newt and Chuck, because they are so honest, kind, understanding and loyal (just like Hufflepuffs). They are too good to be true. That’s why I think they wrote the end as it is, but I didn’t like it very much. Of course, the series goes on, but the consequences of the ending of the first movie/book are influencing the whole plot. I didn’t like the design of the grievers. They reminded me of some concept art that would be fitting for the “Hunger Games” series. I missed a lot of god parts that weren’t included in the movie like the relationship between the boys and the relationship Thomas and Teresa share. Still, it is a good movie and worth watching. The whole plot (except the ending) is the work of a genius and something new. I love it very much and do recommend it, but I have to stick to my motto: “Books are better than the movies”. “The Maze Runner” gets eight lemon drops (two lemons)!


2 thoughts on “The Maze Runner

  1. I haven’t read the book but I have seen the movie a while ago. And in my opinion the story isn’t that complex. Of course it isn’t as easy to understand as other plots.
    The grievers wouldn’t really fit into the Hunger Ganes I think. I could imagine them best in a ScienceFiction movie but also in TMR.
    But your review is good as always and I like that you compare movie and book.

    Like

Leave a comment