Salt & Storm

Now here is the book I announced on Instagram two days ago….
Salt & Storm by Kendall Kulper.
Salt & Storm is a fantasy novel about Avery Roe who lived between 100 and 150 years ago on the island Prince Island in front of the coast of the US. But Avery is not a normal teenager, neither were all women of the Roe family. All women of her family are Sea witches. They have the control over the sea, storm, love and even death. Only one woman of her family can be a witch at a time. At the moment her grandmother is the witch of Prince Island. The witches are treated respectfully, because they keep the crews on ships alive, help women with love potions and help the inhabitants catching whales in exchange of payment. Each witch has a special gift, Avery for example can tell the meanings and messages behind a dream. All Avery wants is to become the next witch, but her mother who is also a witch is against that. She doesn’t want Avery to become a witch at all and keeps her away from her mother (= Avery’s grandmother) with curses and spells. But her mother has a reason: the price of becoming a witch is a broken heart by the man they loved and expecting a baby girl from the very same man, to be reminded of their broken heart forever and seeing their daughters falling for a man again. Avery thinks her mother is lying and keeps trying to become a witch. When she meets Tane all is going to change…
I couldn’t put this book down and finished it in three hours. Afterwards I wanted more. I never got tired of any part of the book and kept on reading. The writing style of Kendall Kulper is very fitting for the book and for me. I loved how you could feel with her mother and her, even though it was written in the view of Avery. All pages were direct, exiting and important for the plot, which I loved, because I don’t like it when authors describe a single thing over pages and pages. I hope Kendall Kulper is writing more books, so I can read and fall in love with them! The only single part I didn’t like was the ending (again), but it had to be that way. I think I wouldn’t have liked the other choice at all. Salt & Storm gets nine and a half lemondrops (only a half lemon)!


2 thoughts on “Salt & Storm

  1. Hey, this book has more than 400 pages … you read at least two pages per minute- you are an increadible fast reader!
    I can only speculate if you would like to become a witch after reading Salt & Storm ?

    Another question from me would address the book’s title … I might understand Storm in the title as metaphor for the climax of this novel. But I miss an understanding what image comes along with Salt? Is it something sad or what does make one cry?

    And for your’s sake of mind: Kendall Kulper’s next book is close to be released (on 8th of September) – Drift & Dagger is its title!

    Like

    1. Thank you for the compliment, but I’m not that fast.
      Yes, I really do want to be a witch, but more like the Harry Potter kind. I really don’t want to have Averys fate.
      I’m not quite sure what she meant with the salt my self, but I suggest, that it is a metaphor for something, too.

      Like

Leave a comment