Minions

After “Despicable Me 1 & 2” Illumination Pictures made the new spin-off “Minions, who only features the cute yellow followers of Gru. The Minions.
Minions is about the Minions finding a evil master to serve, after several failures with a T-Rex,a Pharao, a vampire and Napoleon Bonaparte. After an accident with Napoleon, the Minions are chased away by the French army. The find a save home in a ice cave and start to build themselves a home, but over the years without serving a master, the Minions get bored, tired and sad. Three Minions leave their cave and search for a master, to make their friend happy again. These minions are Kevin, the smart and daring one, Bob, the very cute one, and Stewart, the one who wants to be a guitarist. They travel along until they get to New York in 1968 and find out that in Orlando (Florida) they will definitely find a master because of the secret “Villiancon”. The Villiancon is a meeting of all villains around the world. Of course they want to serve the most evil of all villains and the three get to work for Scarlet Overkill (Sandra Bullock). Scarlet Overkill takes them to England and wants them to steal the crown of Queen Elizabeth II. But the three don’t know her evil plan…
Minions is well done by the directors and producers Pierre Coffin, Kyle Balda and Chris Meledandri and Janet Healy. The animations are great and I liked the details. Even though you can`t understand the language of the Minions, because it is a fictional language (it’s a language made out of so many languages by mixing them up) you can easily follow along the story. I sometimes thought that Scarlet Overkill is portrayed with too much clichés and that especially Stewart wasn’t the Minion we know, like when he was wearing a thong for swimming. I also didn’t like seeing the Queen fighting with the Minions and punching them in the face. The film is nice to see for people who loved “Despicable Me”, but for others, who haven’t seen Despicable Me, the plot is confusing and they won’t miss anything by not seeing it. “Minions” gets six lemondrops (four lemons).
Like always here is the link to the trailer, if you want to check it out: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wfql_DoHRKc
The reasons I can’t upload a movie poster or a book cover is, that I would get into trouble because of copyright. I often borrow books from the library and the covers are often wracked and don’t look that beautiful, but I will upload book covers, if I own a own copy. By the way, I have a concept of posting my reviews. Every second week I post a movie review and the other week I post a book review.


2 thoughts on “Minions

  1. Hey it is me again ^^
    There was a lot of trouble because of the “minionhype” and the movie being overrated before it was in theaters. After you seeing the movie: Do you think it was that overrated or was it as good as they said?

    Like

    1. I actually think, that it is kind of overrated. I closed the Minion and Despicable Me topic a while ago for me, but now they’re bringing it back for reasons of money ( I guess). Like I said it is not really worth seeing it, unless you are a real big fan of the Minions.

      Like

Leave a comment